Alumni Hall

Alumni Hall

Constructed in 1931, Alumni Hall originally served as the border for the south edge of campus. When it first opened, Alumni Hall served visiting alumni and was named to honor the loyalty of all alumni. To date, it is the only residence hall on campus not named for a person or family. Alumni Hall is recognized for its unique architecture and artwork, including gargoyles and intricate stone carvings. Notable art features include the Madonna and Child, Saint Thomas Aquinas and Saint Boneventure, Knute Rockne, and Clashmore Mike, the original Irish terrier mascot of the Irish. In honor of this original mascot, Alumni Hall’s mascot is the “Dawgs.” The Alumni rector, Rev. George Rozum, C.S.C., has served as the hall’s rector since 1978 and is the longest serving rector in Notre Dame’s history.

Rector

Rev. George Rozum, C.S.C.

Rev. George Rozum, C.S.C.

Rev. George Rozum, C.S.C., was ordained a Holy Cross priest in 1968 and became the rector of Alumni Hall in 1978. He is the longest serving rector in the history of the University. He earned a Bachelor's degree in Philosophy from the University of Notre Dame, a Master's degree in Theology from Holy Cross College of Washington, D.C., and a Master's degree in Accountancy from the University of Notre Dame. He also holds a National Certificate for Teaching the Deaf from the University of Texas at Austin. Prior to becoming a rector, Fr. George served as chaplain to the Texas State School for the Deaf, and an associate pastor at St. Ignatius Parish in Austin, Texas. Fr. George is extremely dedicated to the men of Alumni, taking great interest in residence hall traditions and sports, frequently appearing at interhall hockey or football games, where the men of Alumni greet him by chanting, "F-G-R!"

574-631-6202

Hall Stats

Approximate Capacity
225
Number of Sections
6
Year Established
1931
Quad
South
Sex
Male
Chapel
St. Charles Borromeo
Number of Floors
3
Number of Rooms
92
Elevator
Yes
Air Conditioning
No
Nickname/Mascot
Dawgs