Lyons Hall

Lyons Hall

Opened in 1927 as a men’s residence hall, Lyons Hall is located in close proximity to St. Mary’s Lake and is known for its picturesque views from the archway. It is also the only residence hall featured in the movie, “Rudy.” Dedicated in honor of Joseph Lyons, a popular English professor and the first layman buried in the Holy Cross Community Cemetery, the hall was converted to a women’s residence in 1974. Each year, hall leadership coordinates the Mara Fox Run, which raises funds for a scholarship named in honor of former Lyons Hall resident Mara Fox who was killed by a drunk driver in 1993. Lyons Hall also annually hosts Rinking for Riley to benefit the Riley Hospital for Children in Indianapolis. Professor Ed Hums and his wife Shirley are one of two faculty couples on campus who live in residence. Together, they love sharing life with the women of Lyons, hosting students in their apartment and attending hall events throughout the year. In her free time, Sarah enjoys hiking, kayaking, bragging about her nieces and nephews, playing boardgames, singing, and baking. 

Rector

Sarah Heiman

Sarah Heiman

Sarah Heiman became the rector of Lyons Hall in 2014. Originally from Chester, Nebraska, Sarah earned both her Bachelor's degree in Religious Studies and her Master of Divinity degree from Yale University. Prior to Notre Dame, Sarah served at Mercy Center, a retreat and conference center sponsored by the Sisters of Mercy, where she developed and led programmatic offerings to help people of all ages connect with the Sacred in self, others, and creation. Before that, she served for four years at Sacred Heart University in Connecticut overseeing retreats and faith development and encouraging discipleship and student leadership.

574-631-6575

Hall Stats

Approximate Capacity
182
Number of Sections
6
Year Established
1927
Quad
South
Sex
Female
Chapel
All Souls'
Number of Floors
4
Number of Rooms
97
Elevator
No
Air Conditioning
No
Nickname/Mascot
Lion